Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Better Planning

Tonight the girls are going to their dad again and after last Thursday’s pity fest I thought I need to plan a little better for evenings when I’m by myself. So, I asked around and found a friend willing to go out for dinner 🙂 She works until 7.3oPM so it’ll be a late dinner, but it’s better than me sitting alone feeling sorry for myself!!! I know I said I can’t afford to go out every time I don’t have the girls, but can I afford sitting alone feeling horrible???

I’ve always been a very frugal person, but I think I’m going to have to spend a little more so that my sanity doesn’t suffer. I absolutely don’t want to end up bitter, looking back on these years and saying why didn’t I do something!!!! And going out to dinner doesn’t have to be $50 or more thing. It used to be that since I only went out once in a blue moon, when I did go out I wanted to go somewhere nice. If I change that, I can afford more dinners out, simple math. So I suggested a sports bar halfway between where she works and the town where we live and we’ll see how that goes 🙂

One of the problems I find with this plan is, I need someone to actually go out with. All my friends are married, it’s a good thing for them, but it’s not easy for me to always find someone to do things with. I find that especially weekends are hard for people to get away (I’m sure they don’t see it as getting away…). And I hate even asking them to take time away from family to hang out with me, since I know how important it is to spend time as a family and do fun things. That is one of the major reasons my marriage broke down!! So I don’t want to be the cause of someone elses marriage problems. I can understand how my friends’ husbands feel, here is this newly single women who wants my wife to come out and play on weekends… Not an ideal situation.

So, I need to find some single friends… Easier said than done living in a small rural town with mostly families. I’ve tried finding groups on meetup.com, so far not much luck. But I guess I need to step that up.

Leave a Reply

