Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Quiet

The house is so quiet when the girls aren’t here! I dropped them of at their camp, they go 3 days a week for 3 hours up at the school. My youngest is starting Kindergarten so I thought it would be good to send her to the Kindergarten camp so that she’s been in the school before.

Plus she is very attached to me. It is really hard for her to be away from me, so I need to keep it up otherwise the start of school will be horrible. Today was one of those days, she kept crying if I tried to leave and wanted “just one more hug mommy”. And since I believe in letting her calm herself down and get comfortable with the situation before I leave, it took 20 min. I should have dropped the older one first, she’s going to the “Going in to 1st grade camp”, but since we’d had no issues at drop-of before these past 1.5 weeks, I didn’t even think of that. So I had her stressing the little one the whole time “common let’s go, I’m so late” etc.

So now, I’m sitting here with my coffee, the house is a mess, but I can’t bring myself to get anything done. I have about 1.5 hours until I have to go pick them up and I’m going to enjoy the quiet. The weather channel is warning about severe thunderstorms this afternoon, so we’ll be stuck inside. Maybe I’ll get the girls to help me clean the house… I can dream, can’t I?!

We do need the rain, like most of the US, it’s very dry here. I only hope that it won’t be any severe storms over us, an afternoon of gentle rain would be perfect! My lawn is getting very brown and my vegetable beds are in need of water.

My coffee is finished, I’m going to go out and water the green house. Even if the rain comes, it won’t water in there 🙂

Leave a Reply

