Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Weekend Again

Most people look forward to weekends, it’s the time to enjoy your family and get time off from work. I used to be one of them, now it depends. It depends mainly on if I have plans or not. Last night I did go out with some people who I had met through meetup.com, a group for divorced women… As always I’m 10+ years younger than of them. I wish I could meet someone a little closer to my age. It was nice, don’t get me wrong, but still looking to find a few friends to hang out with on weekends.

Today I first went running, did about 7.5 miles, so not bad. I’m not the fastest runner but at least I run the whole way! Then home and did yard work for two hours. While I was mowing the lawn I was listening to Nickelback. I kept playing their song Gotta Be Somebody over and over. I love it! Who can’t releate to that? Here is part of the lyrics:

“This time, I wonder what it feels like
To find the one in this life, the one we all dream of
But dreams just aren’t enough
So I’ll be waiting for the real thing, I’ll know it by the feeling
The moment when we’re meeting, will play out like a scene
Straight off the silver screen
So I’ll be holding my breath, right up ’til the end
Until that moment when, I find the one that I’ll spend forever with

Cause nobody wants to be the last one there
Cause everyone wants to feel like someone cares
Someone to love with my life in their hands
There’s gotta be somebody for me like that
Cause nobody wants to do it on their own
And everyone wants to know they’re not alone
There’s somebody else that feels the same somewhere
There’s gotta be somebody for me out there”

I don’t know, today it made me cry… So I was sitting on my mower crying hoping none of my neighbors would see me.

Then I went inside and signed up for a few more meetup groups, for finding new girlfriends, social groups (no dating sites… I don’t know if I’m ready for that yet). We’ll see, I still waiting for approval for a few of them, maybe one of them will have something that I can do tonight. Otherwise, since none of my married friends could go out tonight I don’t have any plans. Should I dare go out by myself? I’ve never done that. It would probably only make me feel more lonely…

 

2 Comments

  1. I enjoyed reading your posts and thanks for mentioning meetup.com – i had never heard of the site prior to reading ur post. You should start going to a matinee on your own – for me when I go see a movie alone – the first time it felt awkward but after that you feel good knowing you can enjoy it alone.

  2. That’s a great idea, thanks!!! That feels like something I can actually do without feeling worse…

Leave a Reply

