Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Furniture Trading

I have an idea, I should start a furniture trading club for divorced people! I can’t afford to throw out all my furniture and buy new ones, but I would love to change with someone. I’m sure that it is a common problem after divorce. People divide their belongings (or in my case, is left with almost all the furniture). And this is furniture that you and the ex picked out together, it all reminds you of the life that you don’t have any more, don’t want any more.

These past 3 days I’ve been moving pictures around in the house, I exchanged the curtains in my bedroom and the ones in  the living room. I got a couch from a friend that was moving to put in my empty room. So now it looks a little different, but wouldn’t it be nice to trade with people who are in the same situation?
Just a thought.

5 Comments

  1. Reblogged this on Montreal Seller's Blog and commented:
    What an amazing blog

  2. Love it!! It is so frustrating that divorce is a time when you want all new surroundings (furniture, clothes, etc.) yet you can afford none of it.

  3. ditchthemarriage

    Love this idea!!! Yes, you definitely want to get rid of those memories after a split but no one wants to just toss out perfectly good furniture. This may just catch on!

  4. I am sold on the idea! I have always felt getting a new lease on life after divorce included trying out a different style. The last divorce, not one that hurt any children, since they were all grown and out of the house, I left some of the kids’ furniture for the family buying our house. They had a teen who had said she liked my daughter’s style. Perfect way to feel giving without spending.

    • I wish I could have changed everything out, but I haven’t been able to do that. It’s coming up on a year now since the divorce was final and I’ve moved things around and now it feels much more like mine not ours.

Leave a Reply

