Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Goals

Here is a question for you: Are goals a good or a bad thing?

I recently set a goal for myself and now I’m wondering, is it a good way to motivate me or is it setting me up for failure? Me and two friends decided a while ago to run a 10k this fall. So the goal I set for myself is to do it under 50 min. I’ve never run it that fast, I really haven’t run much at all in my life so I don’t know if I can do it or not. I read an article that 80% of women my age should be able to do it in 45 min… If the exercise and put their mind to it. So I didn’t go that far, but 50 min is still very fast. To me.

First step to reaching my goal is to exercise more than once a week. I know, most people already do this, but for me it’s been unpractical since I have my daughters most of the time, I would have to arrange babysitting to go running, I’ve never had a baby sitter just so that I could do something for myself, except dr appointments. Which I really don’t consider doing something for myself.

The girls are going to summer camp 3 days a week for 3 hours so I have some time now, but that ends after next week. But, school starts two weeks after that so I really have no excuses. Which is why I set the goal in the first place, I know I can jog around a 10k, no problem, but what’s the point of that? I feel like I need to prove to myself that I’m still young(ish), I’m turning 38 in October, that’s not so old. I would love to be in great shape and to prove to myself that if I really want to do something, I can!!!

So far, on longer stretches I’m not there yet, but I have 1.5 months to get there. I set the goal, I told my friends and I’m writing it here, I now have to deliver!

1 Comment

  1. I sometimes learn that by stretching myself things do get better, emotionally and for you, this was a wonderful opportunity, keeping busy while the girls were gone. I am checking on past posts, I think I am caught up with your recent ones! You go, girl!

Leave a Reply

