Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Being Bored!

I don’t think I’ve ever really appreciated being bored before!!! As any mother (or hopefully some fathers out there) of young children knows, there is never enough time. You never have a second to yourself, most of the time you can’t even go to the bathroom without someone calling out for you. So the thought of being bored is not even one that you think.

I have to say, that is one of the things I really like about the divorce and the weekends that I have to myself. I get to schedule or not schedule things to do. And on those days with nothing scheduled, like today, when the only thing I “had” to do was go for a run, the rest of the time I can just sit and appreciate the boredom that comes when you have nothing to do.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure there are millions of errands, housework, yard work etc that needs to get done, but I try to take at least one day every few weeks or once a month to not do anything that produces a result. What I have done is talked to my mom on the phone, finished the current book that I was reading (The Ark by Boyd Morrison), text with friends and watch some Olympics. All in all a really nice day!

I hope everyone gets to have their own version of a boring day.

Leave a Reply

