Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

A Million Questions

How do you know you’re ready to date after a divorce? How do you date? Is it worth it? Should I just stay alone for the rest of my life?

These are but a few of the questions running through my head right now. First of all, I’ve never really dated, especially as an adult! Me and the ex met when I was 20. I’m turning 38 in October… I’ve been with him my entire adult life! How do you get over a relationship like that? How do you get to the point where you feel like you can see yourself with someone else? But I miss having someone to talk to, who’s not 4 or 6 years old. I could really use a hug (and more) from a man with strong arms that could make me feel safe.

So I started reading online, there are millions of tips on dating after divorce. But, I wasn’t even halfway through this:
http://www.coachingfordivorcedwomen.com/5-tips-dating-after-divorce/
before the waterworks started.

So here I am, alone on a Friday night, crying again. But, I think I might be ready… It’s a very scary thought!

2 Comments

  1. I was in the same boat. I started dating my ex when I was 16. He left when I was 32. I had never dated a man. Only boys. I’ve written a bit about my experiences and tips about dating after divorce. My primary suggestion is to release expectations and look at each encounter as a lesson. It is a scary endeavor but it is also exciting.

    • I’ll check out your posts about it, thanks!

Leave a Reply

