Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

County Fairs

A sign that Fall is approaching in New England, the county fairs are in full swing. I took my girls to one today, spent 5,5 hours looking at horse pulls, cows, chickens, bunnies, sheep, goats, kids magic shows and trying to not spend too much money on carnival rides, junk food, pony rides and all the other things that they sell.

It was a little to hot for a fair, but the next weekend that I have the girls will be the weekend that I’m running a 10k so my ex has promised to take them for part of the weekend so it won’t leave any fair time. Any I only have my daughters every third weekend so I didn’t want to risk missing going to one, it’s a wonderful atmosphere.

So my girls absolutely loved the magic shows, there was 2 different guys doing them and we saw both, one of them twice… I would have liked to see a few other things, but my motto when it comes to doing things with the kids is all about creating memories. But I have to say, my girls are really good about not fighting me on things. I told them that they could take 4 carnival rides each and there was no crying about wanting more.

I was a little hesitant before going today because last year on one of the days when my then husband was looking at condos/houses to rent, I took the girls to a fair and we ran into 4 of their friends and parents… I hadn’t told these people that we were getting divorce, because we hadn’t told the kids yet. So, every one of them asked me where he was that day… Not the most fun day for me! But, today was wonderful!!! That day crossed my mind on the drive there, but once we were at the fair it was only fun. I’m so glad that we went and I could put another memory to rest, replace it with a much better one.

I guess that is one of my missions right now, not letting old memories stand in the way for making new ones. Not letting the past stop me from doing something. Building a new life, that does not include him. Letting go of dreams and dreaming bigger!

3 Comments

  1. I have nominated you for the Very Inspirational Blogger Award so that the people who follow my blog may have a chance to read yours. I have found your blog truly inspirational. Please feel free to accept or decline as you wish. The listing for the award can be found on my current post
    http://almostspring.com/2012/08/26/awards/
    Best wishes 🙂

  2. I love the county fairs. I am so glad to look back when I was not aware of your posts, upon your happy choices. You sound like a wonderful mom!

    • Thank you! As all of us, I try to do the best I can.

Leave a Reply

