Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Getting Back on the Trail

Me and the ex used to go on day hike before the kids were born. We would build our vacations around hiking, we brought gear almost everywhere we went to sneak in a hike. I love the feeling, being out for hours walking in the woods or desert, up and down mountains. Since the kids were born, we’ve taken them on shorter hikes, but less and less. There always seemed to be other things that got in the way…

I’ve spent the last few weeks doing some soul-searching, trying to figure out what I like and how I want to spend my time. One of the things that I realized was that I’ve really missed hiking. So I started last week with the intention of going on a long hike this weekend, I’ve always wanted to try the Appalachian Trail so I thought this is what I’ll do. But I started feeling stressed about going by myself, so I went on-line and looked for a meetup group to join. There are lots of hiking groups out there! So I picked one on Wednesday and sent my request to join. On Thursday morning I got “approved” so that I could see what hikes they had scheduled and lo and behold a Saturday hike on the Appalachian Trail! The description said: “This hike will be a moderately strenuous through hike approximately 12.6 miles in length. It will likely take between 6 and 8 hours.” I thought its fate, I have to do this!!!

I had bought new hiking shoes a few years back, but hadn’t really gotten to use them. So I spent Thursday and Friday wearing them on all my errands. I bought a new pair of shorts since my old ones are now to big (yay!), found my backpack with water pouch, bought some snacks to bring. I felt ready! But I have to admit there were times when I thought, it’s too long of a hike, I should just cancel. But I pushed all the voices of fear out of my head and told myself I can do this, I want to do this. The first step is always the hardest…

So, yesterday morning I drove an hour to the meeting spot and met up with 14 other hikers. Some of them looked like they spent a lot of time outdoors but not all of them. Since I haven’t been on anything longer than a 2 miles hike in the past 7 years I felt a little intimidated, but thanks to all my running and weight lifting I could keep up with them, I was able to stay with the front group and take longer breaks at the beautiful overlooks to wait for the rest of the group to catch up. I had so much fun! I’m so glad I did this.

This morning I’m happy to report, I have no blisters but I am a little sore, which is to be expected. I think this will be a wonderful compliment to my running, to build up my endurance. Plus it’s fun! I got to hang out a whole day with a really nice group of people.

Leave a Reply

