Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Another Birthday Has Come and Gone

Two days ago I turned 38. This is the first birthday that I’ve been single since my 20th birthday. The past 17 birthdays has been spent with my ex. Even last year, he asked to come for dinner… So even with him living somewhere else (and as I found out afterwards, dating someone else) and us going through the divorce process he was still there. He had bought me a laptop, the very one that I’m writing this on. On the credit card statement that I months later was shown he had bought her jewelry…

This year he sent me flowers. And as always he did not sign his name, the only reason that I know they were from him was that he had told our daughters he was going to buy me flowers. It felt very strange, it even felt a little creepy. I don’t know what his intentions with the flowers were. If anyone has any thoughts on the matter please comment. The reasons I can come up with are:
1) He did it for the girls
2) He wants to still look like the good guy
3) He doesn’t want me to move on
4) He feels sorry for me
I really don’t know and I shouldn’t care, but I do…

On my birthday, I celebrated with my daughters and some friends. We went out for sushi, I did not want to cook. And then yesterday I went out with three of my four best friends, my main support during the divorce. All in all it’s been a good few days! I don’t mind getting older, I almost see it as getting better instead. Right now, I’m happier, healthier, in better shape than I’ve been in a really long time.

Happy Birthday to me!

2 Comments

  1. Happy Re-birthday! 🙂

    • maria5125

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

