Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Coming Out of the Fog

I’ve been battling this cold for the past 2 weeks, I’ve felt it coming, mild headache, stuffy nose and foggy, but it didn’t really want to make me sick enough to rest and not go away. So Saturday I went running to give it a push to either make me sick or go away. Of course it made me sick and I’ve had a fever, cough, sore throat, headache etc for the past 48 hours. I woke up this morning and the headache if finally gone!!! I’m so glad that I did go running because the fogginess (is that a word??) I’ve felt these past 2 weeks has not been fun. I don’t like it when my mind is not working. I still have a sore throat but I can live with that.

Isn’t it funny how the body will push away illness when you know you don’t have time to be sick? My body has always done that, I was never sick when I had school or work to go to, I normally got sick Friday night and better by Sunday night, at least well enough to go to school/work.

There has been so many things that I’ve been meaning to do these past 2 weeks but I haven’t had the energy. Fall is here, the leaves are so pretty and I really wanted to go out and take some pictures with the girls. Now it’s almost to late, but I’m hoping that the weekend will be nice so that we have a chance to take some pictures.

I’ve also started thinking about what traditions I would like to start for me and my daughters. At least one for each season, not bound by holidays. Something to build on each year. I’m thinking a Fall hike to somewhere pretty that we can do every year, with a packed lunch.

4 Comments

  1. Glad you’re feeling better! My husband and I took the dogs for a hike last weekend. It was amazing! Going to go again this weekend and DRAG the boys along…Fresh fall air never killed anyone!

    • I really love the Fall and the last one is a blur (middle of divorce) and this one either one of the girls or me have been sick. So I feel that it’s gone by without us being able to enjoy it, but knock on wood this coming weekend all the stars will lign up for us to enjoy it 🙂

  2. Enjoy whatever moments you can, whether they are beautiful and sunny, or rainy and cloudy! Many a time it was making a meal, painting together, or baking cookies or cinnamon rolls out of a tube, my kids enjoyed all of those times. You are good at making memories, I can tell from the way you write!

    • I try to remember that it is the little things, the always being there for them, the bread/cookie baking, jumping in puddles, the day to day things that they will remember. Thank you for coming and reading my blog and for the encouraging words!

Leave a Reply

