Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

The Holidays Are Over

Christmas has come and gone, New Years Eve has come and gone and I have to say they were not bad. I didn’t have my girls most of that time. My ex-mother-in-law was visiting from Sweden and she had not been here for two years so I let the girls spend most of the holidays with her. I was worried before hand how I would feel, especially sitting alone on Christmas Eve and waking up Christmas morning without the girls (they came home that morning at 10AM). I have to admit it was actually very nice. I watched lots of Hallmark movies and ate good food. I wasn’t sad or lonely, I’m getting used to being by myself and I don’t mind it. I actually like being by myself.

I didn’t have plans for New Years Eve, I was home alone, more Hallmark movies, didn’t even bother to stay up until midnight. No sadness, no tears, only quiet contentment. I reflected on the past year and how far I’ve come. I’m amazed at how good I’m feeling. I’m not one who makes resolutions so I don’t have a list for you on what I’m going to do. Put I can promise you all this, I’m going to continue to be grateful for my life just the way it is right now. I have everything I need and I wouldn’t change one thing.

I have to share one thing else that happened this past week, apparently all is not well in “paradise” for my ex. This is what his Facebook status was on January 1st: “Happy New Year and fresh beginnings. 2012 being my worst year ever, I so look forward to a more positive 2013” I’m assuming that this means that the girlfriend broke up with him… It’s been very quiet about her the past 3-4 months and I’ve heard rumors that she dumped him. I would say my worst year ever was 2011 when he asked for a divorce, he was so happy and in love that it made it so much harder on me. Now I feel like screaming from the rooftop: “I love KARMA!!!!” But continuing to take the high road, I didn’t post a comment on his status. But I would be lying if I didn’t admit that it made my day!

I hope these feelings of contentment continue, I love the calm happiness that is my life right now.

 

Leave a Reply

