Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Next Challenge

I finally did it! I signed up for my first half marathon. I found one six months ago that I wanted to do and I’ve been telling people about it but this past week I finally signed up for it. I got one friend to sign up and there is one other who said she is doing it too. After my 10k in August I got lazy and only ran about once a week and then in December it got cold and snowy and I stopped running completely… But 3 weeks ago I said this is it, I need to get serious about this again, I feel so much better when I run. Long runs are like meditation to me, everything else fades away.

So on April 28 I will run my first half marathon. That gives me 3 months to build up my miles, I’ve promised myself to take it easy to not get hurt. I’m not going to set a time that I would like to accomplish, I will be happy to finish it running. I learned that mistake with my 10k, I had said I wanted to finish under 50 minutes and when I got a time of 51 min 20 sec I was very unhappy… Which is silly, it was my first and so far only 10k and it was very hilly so I should be happy. Anyway that is why I’ve decided to just be happy to complete a half marathon!

6 Comments

  1. John

    Nice one, good luck with the half.

  2. Good for you. I admire that. Can’t wait to read all about it. You go, girl!

  3. I used to help my brother when he ran marathons, would carry his water to a certain point. Sometimes I would bring an extra pair of shoes to him halfway. I hope you will have some people to help you and cheer you on! A half marathon is nothing to sneeze at!

    • The friend I’m going to Sedona with is driving us there and back so at least that part is taken care of. They will have water stations along the way so I just need to learn to drink while I run…

Leave a Reply

