Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Suspicion Confirmed

On Friday when I dropped the girls my ex asked to speak to me. So he sent the girls upstairs so that we could have some privacy. He then told me that it was over between him and his girlfriend. He said that she had finally shown her true colors and that she now was going after his boss… To be honest I’m not surprised, I told him from the beginning that she was after him for his money. And now after he has to pay child support and alimony there isn’t so much of it for him to spend on her. I’m sure she’s looking for someone with more of it. But I’m not completely sure that he’s telling the truth about her being after his boss or if that was his weird way of trying to get me to feel sorry for him. I’ve made dinner plans for this coming Friday with two girlfriends who work at the same small company to see what they have to say about it.

My close group of friends that has seen me through this whole thing were the first ones I texted after I got home. They were all very happy and told me that we were right, we said it would last a year (and I think it was over a few months ago which would make it about a year). They also said that it’s only a matter of time until he asks to come back… I’m not so convinced and yes some part of me would love to be able to look him straight in the eyes and say: “HELL NO!!!”. I’m just glad that she is out of his life and out of my daughters’ life. I hope he finds someone nice that will be nice to my daughters.

Isn’t it ironic how life turns out. I can’t help but wonder what would have happened if he had listened to me two years ago when I told him that this women was bad news and I didn’t want him spending time with her… But in some aspects they both did me a favor, I am so much happier today than I was two years ago! At the time I didn’t see my life for what it was and I’m so happy to be out of that dysfunctional relationship. That is one of the reasons I know with absolute certainty that I’ll never take him back, my eyes are now wide open and I’ll never put myself in that situation (with him again).

5 Comments

  1. So glad you have moved on. It is amazing how they come to some realization once we become independent and are happy.

    • I know! He had no idea how good he had it. I did everything for him, I put my own needs absolutely last, whatever he wanted is what we did. The problem is, he’ll never find an adult smart woman willing to do that. It was easy to mold a 20 year old into becoming that, over 16 years, but I find it hard to believe a woman in her late 30s or 40s (which I’m assuming is his target age) will do all that I did for him. All I can tell him is good luck 🙂

  2. Karma. Pure karma. And if you can get away without feeling smug or rejoicing in it, yours will stay clean:)

    • I’ll be honest, there definitely were feelings of joy right after he told me, but most of the time I just want him to be happy. Because if he is happy he’ll be a better father to our daughters.

  3. Very good comment on your part! If the father is healthy and happy, the children benefit. Good luck and keep your chin up! You have exciting plans, a trip and the half marathon! Plus your children to spend time with!

Leave a Reply

