Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Blizzard

Incase you missed it, there was this big blizzard in the north east this past week. We were lucky and didn’t loose power, but we did get a lot of snow, 36″ to be exact… And with the wind blowing it around, some places had more, luckily some had less where I had to shovel. I thought I’d post some pictures for you to see.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sliding door to the back deck and my garage door.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My front door, my deck and a picture up my driveway… That is what I spent Friday and Saturday shoveling so that we can get out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA school

I finished the driveway, sort of, enough to be able to back out and drive up. The last picture was taken by a friend, it’s the girls’ school yesterday afternoon. And yes, school is closed today. There is no word on when it’ll open.

Today we woke up to freezing rain and sleet, which has now turned to all rain. I am in so much pain from all the shoveling that it’s not fun. But since I don’t have a snow blower and I don’t use a plow service, I really didn’t have much choice. I tried to get one plow guy to help but he didn’t want to drive down my driveway with the risk of getting stuck. He did do the top 6 feet for me, which is actually the street, our road is only one lane right now… That helped a lot, because where the town plow had been the snow was so hard I was chopping it to pieces first to be able to move it.

5 Comments

  1. Jet

    You’re superwoman! I’m so happy to live in a condo right now, lol.

    • Oh you have no idea how much I really, really was kicking myself for staying in the house during the digging. If someone had come to ask to buy my house it would have been very cheap 🙂

      Problem is, our little rural town has no condos… I would have had to move from all my friends and all my daughters’ friends and I wasn’t willing to do that. So I get to be superwoman instead, thanks!

  2. John

    If we get 6″ of snow the UK grinds to a halt. We’re just not prepared for it. Nice pictures. 🙂

    • We’re not prepared for this either! People who have ventured out say that some stores are still out of milk and other necessaries, parking is horrible and people are getting stuck everywhere. Most secondary roads are still only one lane. Lots of bad car accidents because the on-ramps for the highways have huge snow piles so you can’t see if a car is coming when you try to get on. Still no word on when the kids get to go back to school…

  3. I thought your pictures were very cool and the post interesting! The drifts look much bigger than 36″! I was looking back at one I had not commented on!

Leave a Reply

