Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Delusional

My ex is really delusional! He is so self-centered that it is hard to comprehend sometimes how he justifies things.

Background: During our divorce he wanted 50-50 custody, he wanted us to put them in day care so that I could go out and get “a real job” instead of being a stay-at-home mother. They were 4 and 5 at the time. I refused. Our plan had always been that I would stay home until the youngest started first grade. This is still what I’m planning on doing and this coming Fall I will try to find a job.

Up until he met E he still wanted 50-50 custody, our custody agreement even states that we are to sit down in June of this year to discuss having them live one week with him and one week with me. Now, E lives an hour away from me and the girls, his work and where he currently lives is halfway between the two. He told me a month ago that he is planning on moving in with E this Fall and that means that he cannot do 50-50. But when her youngest is finished with high school, in two years, they can then move and he would want the girls 50-50. He wants the custody agreement revised every year…

I never agreed to revise it every year, but I do agree that we need to change it from what it is right now when I start working and they spend longer days away from me. Right now the schedule is:
Week 1: Thursday night – Friday morning with Ex
Week 2: Tuesday night – Wednesday morning with Ex
Friday night – Sunday night with Ex
Week 3: Friday night – Sunday night with Ex

Yesterday I sent an email saying that when I start working I would like to have every other weekend and that when they are with him they would go Friday until Monday, pick up and drop off at school. Right now I drive them to his house and he drops them of at my house in the morning when they have school and I still make lunch/snacks/get them ready and get them to school.

He responded today saying that he wants more time with them not less, so he wants 3 out of 4 weekends and no weeknight overnights because “those nights seem very stressful for everyone involved”. So basically what he is saying is: he wants the fun weekend time and I can work full-time and take care of the children during the weeks. Did I mention that he is delusional??!! So I’m basically the hired help to raise his kids while he gets to have all the fun. I don’t think so. To be continued…

1 Comment

    Trackbacks

    1. Page not found | Alone but Strong

    Leave a comment