Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Half Marathon

Today I ran my first and as it feels right now, my last, half marathon. My time was 1:55:33 which I’m very happy with since my goal was to finish under 2 h.

I’ve trained for months for this race and the reason I’m saying that it might be my last is that 13.1 miles is a lot of miles and it takes so much time to practice for a race like this. I’ve spent every weekend planning how to get in a 1.5-2 hour run, when to eat, when to do a recovery run. Every day while my youngest was away at school, only 3.5 hours, I’ve had to choose between running and grocery shopping, cleaning, yard work, etc. Until it got to the point where running wasn’t fun anymore. I’m so looking forward to being able to go for a “short” 4-6 mile run and that is enough.

I will still need to register for races to keep my motivation up, but 5K and 10Ks. My two friends that I did the race with feel the same way, for which I am happy. It is so much better to have people to train with, to go to the races with, to celebrate with.

5 Comments

  1. Great race time. Congratulations.
    Also good that you are contemplating taking the running a little slower (or shorter).
    You can rest easy on a good time.

    • Thank you! I’m going to enjoy running again now and that’s very important. It’s not a chore anymore!

  2. This is a good accomplishment! It was nice to set the goal and reach it! Time is not really important but you did well! It is finishing the race, to me, that counts!

    • Thank you! I agree, I’m very pleased with finishing. I’ve learned that when I set a goal for myself it is very important that I keep it.

Trackbacks

  1. Readership Award | Sustainably Single Parenting

Leave a Reply

