Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Happy Mother’s Day

I want to wish a Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there. But especially to all the single mothers out there. It’s not really the same when you don’t have anyone to pick up the slack on that day. It’s the one day of the year that even the most under appreciated mothers out there normally get some help from their spouses.

But when you are a single mother of young children, mine are 5 and 7, there is no sleeping in, no someone else will make breakfast and lunch and dinner, no one to buy you flowers or a present (my daughters made my ex go buy something yesterday… to tell the truth the thought of him buying presents for me makes me sick but I’ll fake it Sunday and put on a happy smile).

I have told them that a card and them behaving nicely all weekend is all I want. So they have spent the last two days wrapping anything in sight and hiding in my oldest bedroom šŸ™‚ Very cute! It’ll be interesting to see how many “presents” I’ll get on Sunday, but I’m looking forward to that so much more than whatever they went to the store with my ex to buy.

7 Comments

  1. Enjoy lovey, you have sweeties that sound like they love you!!!

  2. Very sweet story and you are on my list of nominees for the Super Sweet Blog Award! Check out my post and updated http’s! I am glad that you are lucky enough to have those little ones to wrap up the stuff around the house and I bet it was a fun Mother’s Day!

    • Thank you for the nomination! We did have a great Mother’s Day, I love them so much!!!

  3. Oh so sweet. I remember the single days with my 2 sons… my oldest wrapped up his ninja turtle for me and 1/2 bag of M&M’S .. he had a note and said his younger brother opened the M&M’S and ate some it was precious… Happy Belated Mothers Day

    • That is so cute! It’s amazing how much they try to make it special even if they are little. Happy Belated Mother’s Day to you too, even though I know for you it must be a hard one to celebrate.

Trackbacks

  1. Beautiful Blogger Award | Sustainably Single Parenting

Leave a Reply

