Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

Moving

So my daughters have been saying that they are moving (ex and E are moving in together). Last week they said that it would happen this weekend, so I sent an email to him asking is this true and pointed out that he has to, per our agreement, tell me 45 days in advance of a change of address. His reply: “Oh, here is the new address and we are only moving some of the furniture this weekend, my lease is not up until September”. I wonder if he would have been as forgiving if I had done the same to him? We all know the answer to that!

Well they slept in the new place for the two nights and moved most of the furniture so I would say that it constitutes as moving, but I’m not going to fight about it. But the reason I pointed it out to him, is that if we ever have to go back to court, it’s good to have documented all the little deviations that he’s done to the agreement.

It’ll be interesting to see how long this relationship lasts, they’ve known each other for a little less than 5 months… But from what I gather her lease was up on the “cottage” that she was renting in this fancy town so she needed a place to live with her two kids (16 and 21 years old). Now she thinks she’s got her hands on a rich man that can take care of them. All I can say is, good luck with that!

8 Comments

  1. Ha! Good luck indeed!

    • There is nothing else that can be said about it 🙂

  2. reocochran

    I can feel through your words some hurt and I hope you are doing okay? I have been blue lately, sometimes wonder why I am prone to repeating my mistakes. But this is not about me, haha! I hope you and the girls are doing well and that they are adjusting well, too. It must be a little hard on them with older “siblings” other woman’s kids there.

    • It is hard to know that he is happy, moving on with someone else, feeling tossed a side. My daughters seem to like having new “sibliings”, even though the idea of a 16 year old boy in the house with them terrifies me…

  3. I would also worry about the 16 year old boy, too! I am not sure how that can be handled without alarming the girls unnecessarily. But telling them they are a “team” and to always share their worries and concerns with each other, and also being open yourself to not pry but wait and listen to their thoughts. Usually girls do share with their mother, and you are a wonderful one, at that! You can just tell. Take care and hope all continues on a status quo and yet, you may be also finding friends to hang out while the girls are gone, summer is a fun time to at least “look” at the men out there!

  4. Hi Maria! I nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award on my most recent post! I hope you will accept the award and have fun with choosing your own list of inspiring writers you like to read! Take care, Robin

  5. Amanda

    Hi Maria! I just found your blog and am so happy I found you! I am at the beginning of my journey and it’s great to know that I’m not alone. You are a true inspiration and I hope that I can be as good to my soon to be ex as you have been to yours. I keep thinking, “what’s best for my daughter”, to get through any situations.

    • I’m sorry you are going through the same thing. Best of luck to you!!

Leave a Reply

