Alone but Strong

Single mother of two beautiful girls trying to rebuild my life. One day at a time.

First Half of Our Trip

I can’t believe that we are already half way through our trip. I’ve had time to see friends, favorite cousins, the house I grew up in, the house my dad grew up in, re-live a lot of childhood memories. I’m writing this in what used to be my grandmother’s kitchen. My parents decided to keep the house that my dad grew up in, it’s located in the northern part of Sweden, when my grandmother passed away 11 years ago. We used to spend at least a week here every Summer. Everything looks the same, I sometimes expect my grandmother to walk thru the door, I haven’t been back since she passed.

One of the most amazing things this far north, we are about 2 hours south of the arctic circle, is that it’s very light out even at night. The sun sets at 11.41PM and comes back up at 1.13AM. There is a river about a 5 min walk from the house, with huge rapids. There is a small cove with a tiny beach that the girls can swim at. I remember when I was a teenager I used to swim out farther and let the current sweep me down and then try to swim back or back to shore and walk back. As long as you don’t get to far out, it’s only fun and not dangerous, at least when you’re young and have not a care in the world.

The guy I went on a date with before I left is still hanging in there πŸ™‚ We exchange multiple e-mails a day and I’m really looking forward to getting back to spend more time with him. He seems very sweet and kind and I can’t wait to get to know him better.

5 Comments

  1. I am so glad for you that you are having a great time on your holiday and catching up with your special people. Have fun πŸ™‚

  2. My grandpa was born in Sweden but he was in America when he met my grandma from Germany. I envy the fact you have these ties and connections to your heritage! This is so wonderful reading about your travels and visits with everyone!

  3. I liked the memory of being swept into the shore by the power of the waves. It also sounds like fun along with exercise! Have you been home yet? Has the first reunion with your new friend happened? I am on the edge of my seat and hoping that you have bridged so much in your emails communication… take care and thanks for liking my posts!

    • Read my new post. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

